Buyer-intent comparison

Best AI Video Tools for Small Business, Priced 2026

There is no single best AI video tool, because the seven tools on every shortlist are not selling the same thing. Under $30 a month buys 52 seconds of generated video on Runway or up to 150 minutes of avatar video on HeyGen — a 70x gap in output per dollar that exists because generators bill per second of computed footage and avatar platforms bill per minute of narrated script. Pick the billing unit that matches the video you actually publish, then compare prices inside that group.

Affiliate disclosure: Tool Income Lab may earn a commission if you buy through links on this page in the future. Current buttons point to official product pages unless an approved affiliate link is added. Recommendations are based on public information, not paid placement.
An isometric illustration on a pale wooden board: four wooden scoops of different sizes holding very different quantities of small green beads, from two beads in the smallest to a heaped mound in the largest, with loose beads scattered across the board
Same shelf, same shape, wildly different portions. That is the AI video pricing page in one picture.

Methodology: published rates, not a hands-on test

Every figure below was read from the vendors' own pricing pages and help documentation in September 2026 and is quoted or arithmetic on quoted numbers. We did not log into these products or generate test exports, so this is buyer-decision guidance rather than lab-tested benchmarking.

  • Prices shown are the cheapest paid tier at the billing period each vendor displayed to us. Where a vendor showed only annual or only monthly rates, we say so.
  • Two vendors could not be priced at all. Fliki and Kling AI render no prices to automated retrieval, and third-party figures for both conflict badly. We quote no price for either — see what we could not confirm.
  • No earnings claim. These tools support content workflows. They do not guarantee views, leads or revenue.

Breakdown Outline

Quick verdict What each entry plan actually buys Generators are sold by the second The free plan that does not renew Paying Synthesia does not buy minutes Descript bills the opposite way Choose by job, not by score What we could not confirm FAQ

Quick verdict

Most minutes per dollar

HeyGen

Creator at $29/mo includes 600 credits. On an Avatar III Video Look at HeyGen's published 4 credits/min that is 150 minutes. Best value for presenter-style marketing video.

If you already record

Descript

Hobbyist at $16/mo annual covers 10 hours of media per month. It bills what you feed in, not what you publish, so the cost does not rise with output.

Training pick

Synthesia

Starter at $18/mo billed yearly is 14,500 credits a year, about 10 minutes a month. Buy it for polished templates, not for volume.

Accents only

Runway or Pika

Runway Standard at $12/mo is 52 seconds of Gen-4.5 per month. Genuinely useful for short b-roll. Not a video pipeline at this price.

What each entry plan actually buys

This is the table the category is missing. Every roundup lists these tools side by side with a monthly price; almost none converts the price into finished video, because doing so requires the credit rates, which usually live in a separate help article.

Tool Cheapest paid plan Vendor's unit Finished video per month Action
HeyGen Creator $29/mo 600 credits/mo 150 min on Avatar III Video Look (4 cr/min), falling to 12.5 min on Avatar V (48 cr/min) Check pricing
Descript Hobbyist $16/mo annual ($24 monthly) 10 hours of media/mo 600 min of source footage edited (input, not output) Check pricing
Synthesia Starter $18/mo billed yearly ($29 monthly) 14,500 credits/yr ~10 min (Synthesia states 120 mins of video per year) Check pricing
Runway Standard $12/mo annual ($15 monthly) 625 credits/mo 52 seconds of Gen-4.5, or 104 seconds of Gen-4 Turbo — Runway's own figures Check pricing
Pika Standard $8/mo billed yearly ($96/yr) 700 credits/mo ~70 generations at the 10-credit Turbo rate, or ~35 at the 20-credit Pro rate Check pricing
Fliki Not displayed to us 2,160 credits/yr (Standard) Not stated — no price rendered, see below Check pricing
Kling AI Not displayed to us Credits (rate not published to us) Not stated — no price rendered, see below Visit official site

Our arithmetic on vendor-published rates. HeyGen credit costs per minute come from HeyGen's credits help article; Runway's second figures are printed on its own pricing page; Pika's per-generation credit costs are printed on its pricing page.

Generators are sold by the second, and the pricing page says so

Runway's pricing page states plainly that 625 credits monthly = 52s of Gen-4.5, 104s of Gen-4 Turbo, and its documentation puts Gen-4.5 at 12 credits per second. That is not a criticism of Runway — generating novel footage costs vastly more to compute than animating a stock avatar reading a script, and printing the seconds at all is unusually transparent. It is a criticism of the roundup format that puts Runway in the same table as HeyGen without mentioning that one buys a minute and the other buys two hours.

Pika prices the same way but in generations: its pricing page lists 10 credits for a Turbo generation and 20 for a Pro one, so Standard's 700 credits is roughly 70 or 35 clips. Both vendors have converged on identical headline prices — Runway Pro and Pika Pro are both $28/mo, Runway Max and Pika Fancy both $76/mo — which makes it tempting to compare credit counts directly. Do not: a Pika credit and a Runway credit buy different amounts of video.

The practical consequence is that you pay for failures. Credits are consumed by generation, not by the clips you keep, so a prompt that comes back wrong has already cost you. On Runway's Standard and Pro plans unused credits do not roll over; only the $76 Max plan carries one month forward. Budget for iteration, not for the finished second count.

The free plan that does not renew

"Try it free first" is standard advice here, and for six of these seven tools it works. Runway is the exception: its pricing page describes the free tier as 125 one-time credits, not a monthly allowance. At 12 credits per second for Gen-4.5, that is about ten seconds of video in total — not per month, in total.

Every other free tier renews monthly: Descript gives 60 minutes of media at 720p with a watermark, Pika 80 credits at 480p, Synthesia's Basic plan 1,200 credits described as up to 10 minutes, HeyGen 3 videos capped at a minute each, Fliki 3 credits. If your plan is to spend a month testing on free tiers, do Runway first and fast.

Paying Synthesia does not buy you minutes

Synthesia's free Basic plan and its monthly Starter plan both list 1,200 credits a month. The pricing page describes the free allowance as up to 10 minutes of video a month and the Starter allowance as 12 minutes, so the paid tier at $29/mo is buying watermark removal, avatar access and features — not a meaningfully larger video budget.

The allowance only moves if you commit annually: Starter billed yearly is $18/mo for 14,500 credits a year, which Synthesia describes as 120 minutes of video, or about 10 minutes a month. So the annual plan costs 38% less per month than the monthly plan and delivers roughly the same monthly minutes as the free tier. Synthesia is a templates-and-polish purchase. If your constraint is volume, this is the wrong tool at this tier, and our HeyGen vs Synthesia cost-per-minute breakdown works through the credit tables on both platforms in detail.

Descript bills the opposite way, which is why it is often the cheapest

Six of these tools charge for video coming out. Descript charges for media going in: Hobbyist at $16/mo annual covers 10 hours a month, Creator at $24/mo annual covers 30 hours at 4K, Business at $50/mo annual covers 40 hours. Nothing about that bill changes if you cut one webinar into thirty clips instead of three.

That makes it structurally cheapest for anyone who already records — podcasters, webinar hosts, anyone with screen-share footage — because the raw material exists and the only question is how fast it becomes publishable. It is the wrong tool if you have no footage, since it edits rather than generates. If cutting long recordings into shorts is the actual job, our Opus Clip vs Vizard vs Klap comparison covers the dedicated clippers, where two bill per minute uploaded and one per clip exported.

Choose by job, not by score

The video you actually needStart withWhyVerify before paying
A presenter explaining your offer, weeklyHeyGen CreatorMost finished minutes per dollar of anything here, if you use a cheap avatar model.Which avatar model your plan defaults to — the spread is 4 to 48 credits/min.
Structured training or onboarding librarySynthesia Starter (annual)Templates and corporate polish are the product; minutes are incidental.That ~10 min/month is enough. It is a small budget.
Clips from webinars, podcasts or screen sharesDescript HobbyistInput-based billing means output volume is free.Your monthly raw footage fits in 10 hours.
Short b-roll, hooks or a stylised ad accentRunway Standard or Pika StandardGenuinely good at generated visuals in small doses.Seconds per month, and that failed generations still cost credits.
Budget faceless narration at volumeFliki (price it yourself)Positioned as the low-cost text-to-video option.Everything — we could not read its prices, and reports conflict.

Buyer safety rule: buy the cheapest plan that can produce one useful video a week, and upgrade only once the workflow demonstrably saves time or earns something. For the wider tool stack around this, see our best AI tools for small business roundup and the faceless YouTube channel walkthrough.

What we could not confirm

  • Fliki prices. The pricing page rendered plan features and credit allowances but no monthly or annual prices across repeated attempts. Third-party sources conflict sharply — we saw Standard quoted at $28, $48 and $66, and Premium at $88 and $99, in the same week. No Fliki price appears anywhere on this page.
  • Kling AI prices. Its membership page returned no prices to us across three URLs and two redirects. Third-party reports of a $10 Standard tier and 66 daily free credits are plausible but unverified, so we state none of them as fact.
  • Runway's Gen-4 Turbo rate. Runway's pricing page implies about 6 credits/second (625 credits for 104 seconds), while its developer documentation lists gen4_turbo at 5 credits/second. These are separate products and we did not reconcile them; our table uses Runway's own consumer figures.
  • HeyGen annual pricing. An annual discount is advertised but the resulting per-month figures did not render cleanly, so we quote HeyGen at its monthly rates throughout — which understates its value against the annually-billed plans in the same table.
  • Synthesia's 10 vs 12 minutes. Synthesia's own page describes the same 1,200-credit allowance as 10 minutes on Basic and 12 minutes on Starter. We report both as displayed rather than guessing at the conversion.

AI video pricing moves fast and credit rates often live in help-centre articles that change without announcement. Check the official pricing page before you buy.

FAQ

What is the best AI video tool for small business marketing?

For repeatable presenter-style marketing video, HeyGen produces the most finished minutes per dollar of the tools we priced: Creator at $29/mo includes 600 credits, which is 150 minutes at the 4 credits/min rate HeyGen publishes for an Avatar III Video Look. That collapses to 12.5 minutes on its most expensive avatar model, so the avatar you choose matters more than the plan you buy.

Why does Runway give seconds of video when HeyGen gives minutes?

They do different jobs. Runway generates new footage and bills per second of output — its pricing page states 625 monthly credits equal 52 seconds of Gen-4.5. HeyGen animates a fixed avatar reading a script, which is far cheaper to compute, so it bills per minute. Generative tools are priced as accent tools, not as a primary pipeline.

Which AI video tool has the best free plan?

Descript, with 60 minutes of media a month at 720p with a watermark. Runway is the one to watch out for: its free tier is 125 one-time credits, roughly ten seconds of Gen-4.5 video in total rather than per month.

Is the Synthesia Starter plan worth it over the free plan?

Not for extra minutes. Both the free Basic plan and the monthly Starter plan list 1,200 credits a month. Starter buys watermark removal, avatars and features. Only the annual plan raises the allowance, to 14,500 credits a year or about 10 minutes a month.

Should beginners pay for more than one AI video tool?

No. Pick the tool that matches the job you publish: an avatar platform for a presenter, an editor if you already record, a generator only for short visual accents. Paying for a generator and an avatar platform simultaneously, before publishing consistently, is the most common subscription waste in this category.